top of page

Want a physical CD of the album "Love Never Rests?

Just visit the MERCH page.

Mike Ward’s new folk album, Love Never Rests, features 11 introspective tracks that examine observations about life, love and loss along with relationships of the past, present and future. All stories are told through the perspectives of wisdom, experience and gratitude. The songs are the result of many hours (and late nights) of collaboration, conversation and involvement in songwriting groups and workshops.


Production: Love Never Rests was produced, engineered, mixed and mastered by David Roof at Rooftop Recordings, Grand Blanc, MI. Mike plays acoustic guitar on all tracks, and he is joined by Larry Labeck on pedal steel, James Anthony on mandolin, David Keeney on lap steel, Grant Flick and Lucy Little on violin, Michael Shimmin on percussion, Bill Sadley on harmonica and David Roof added bass, electric guitars and piano. Harmonies were added by Amy Petty, Alison and Tessa Wiercioch, Emilia Ward, Downtown Judy Brown, Annie Bacon and Jill Jack. 



"Troubled Times”, is a three-song EP is dedicated to those who raise their voice, chase freedom, make their way from other lands to seek refuge and to all those who promote basic human ideals. It has been only released digitally.



During the lock down of 2020, Mike was challenged to write 30 songs in 30 days. This sparked a year of fresh ideas and now Mike has emerged with a 12-song album titled, “Particles to Pearls”. This album examines life through the pandemic lens, the pain of loss, the redemptive power of love and the elusiveness of time. Mike doesn’t pretend to deliver pearls of wisdom, but he does get at some truths about life, love and family.


Particles was produced, engineered and mixed by David Roof at Rooftop Recordings, Grand Blanc, MI. While Mike plays acoustic guitar on all tracks, he is joined by Aaron Markovitz on mandolin and assorted guitars, David Keeney on lap steel, dobro and resonator guitars. Michael Shimmin on percussion, Lucy Little on violin and David Roof added bass, electric guitars, Hammond organ and piano. Harmonies were added by Amy Petty, Alison and Tessa Wiercioch, Downtown Judy Brown and Mike’s daughter, Emilia. Mastering was done by Jim Kissling of Ferndale, MI.


Career Advice Recorded at Rooftop Recording with Mike on acoustic guitar and vocals, Dave Roof on stand up bass and Steve Cousins on accordion.


Mike's second studio album “The Darkness and the Light” explores a life lived while looking over the past, the present and toward the future. 

Darkness was produced by Mike Gentry (Mike Gentry Music) and David Roof. The record was recorded, engineered and mixed by David Roof at Rooftop Recording and mastered by Ian Gorman at La Luna Recording and Sound.

Joining Mike on this record are David Roof playing bass (traditional and stand up), mandolin, piano, Hammond organ and percussion. Jimmy Showers jumped in on acoustic and electric guitars. Sara Gibson performs on cello. Jeff German added electric guitar for “The Line Between Us”. Vocally, Alison and Tessa Wiercioch of Jackamo, Dave Toennies of Border Patrol and Downtown Judy Brown provided harmonies. The full collection of voices join in a chorus to bookend the album.

All Videos (created by filmmaker Danny Ward) can be found on Video page


Mike's first studio album,”We Wonder”, was released in 2018. A spare production of nine songs featuring violinist Lucy Little joining Mike as well as Bill Sadley on harmonica. "The Stream" was produced by Steve Curran featuring Mark Miller, Jules Anna Jones and Robert Tye.


New album

bottom of page